USLCA appreciates all lactation care providers who are supporting breastfeeding families and advocating for our profession! Each year we honor individuals who are making a particular impact for our profession.

Congratulations to our 2022 Award Winners!


Terry Jo Curtis Award:

Nekisha Killings, MPH, IBCLC

Changemaker Award:

Paula Utilla, IBCLC, RLC

Award of Excellence:

Janiya Mitnaul Williams, MA, IBCLC, RLC, CLC

Outstanding Chapter Award:

Northern Illinois Lactation Consultant Association


Submit a Nomination for 2023

USLCA Annual Award nominations are now open for 2023. Nominate yourself or a colleague to be recognized for outstanding contributions in our field for 2023. You may nominate yourself or a colleague for the USLCA Award of Excellence, Changemaker Award, and The Terry Jo Curtis IBCLC Award.

Click here to submit your nomination today. To learn more about each award click here.

Want to be a part of the awards committee? We need volunteers to help review nominations and select next year’s winners.  Email us at

Help us congratulate our previous years’ winners! Click each name to see their full story:

USLCA Award of Excellence

Awarding those working to advance the lactation profession within the US through leadership, advocacy, and education.

2022 Winner: Janiya Mitnaul Williams, MA, IBCLC, RLC, CLC

2021 Winner: Sekeita Lewis-Johnson, DNP, FNP-BC, IBCLC
2020 Winner: Debbi Heffern, RD, IBCLC
2019 Winner: Dr. Ellen Chetwynd, PhD, MPH, RN, BSN, IBCLC
2018 Winner: Lisa Marasco, MA, IBCLC, FILCA
2017 Winner: Colette Acker, IBCLC
2016 Winner: Leah Aldridge, JD, IBCLC, RLC
2015 Winner: Deborah Lang, MSN, RN, IBCLC

The Terry Jo Curtis Award

Awarding the exemplary efforts of a USLCA member who is working to improve equity within the US breastfeeding landscape.

2022 Winner: Nekisha Killings, MPH, IBCLC

2021 Winner: Chanelle Andrews, CBS
2020 Winner: Lucia Jenkins, RN, IBCLC, RLC
2019 Winner: Stephanie Carroll, MBA, IBCLC, RLC
2018 Winner: Alicia C. Simpson, MS, RD, IBCLC, LD
2017 Winner: Mellissa Alvarado, IBCLC
2016 Winner: Ana Maria Linares, DNS, RN, IBCLC, RLC
2015 Winner: Delicia Shimkoski, BSN, RN, IBCLC

Changemaker Award

Awarding the exemplary efforts of a USLCA member who is making great changes in advancing the promotion of human milk feeding.

2022 Winner :Paula Harrison Utilla, IBCLC, RLC

2021 Winner :Kristie Karroum, RN, FNP-C, IBCLC
2020 Winner: Janet Jones, IBCLC, RLC & Lauren Reyes, IBCLC, RLC

Outstanding Chapter Award

Recognizing a chapter’s achievements and dedication to the mission of USLCA.

2022 Winner: Northern Illinois Lactation Consultant Association

2021 Winner: Central Arizona Lactation Consultant Association
2020 Winner: Florida Lactation Consultant Association
2019 Winner: Pennsylvania Resource Organization for Lactation Consultants
2018 Winner: Wisconsin Association of Lactation Consultants
2017 Winner: Ohio Lactation Consultant Association
2016 Winner: IowaLCA

USLCA President’s Award

Awarding an IBCLC who demonstrates extraordinary service to USLCA and our profession. 

2020 Winner: Sarah Lester, IBCLC
2019 Winner: Judy Levy-Stutsky, RN, IBCLC
2018 Winner: Annie Frisbie, IBCLC
2017 Winner: Pat Steimer, RN, IBCLC, LCCE
2016 Winner: Laurie Beck, RN, MSN, IBCLC, RLC
2015 Winner: Pat Lindsey, IBCLC, RLC